Preparing for one EPIC weekend of Photography! {Asheville Portrait Photographer}

I have been preparing for several weeks now to put together the Femme Frames event November 9th and 10th. The weekend is FINALLY upon us and I am so excited I might actually jump up and down…and then I got to thinking. Believe it or not, photographers all over the world host marathon photography events like this, and it might actually behoove people to understand what all goes in to preparing such an event. Well, I am hosting one. Why WOULDN’T I share how I go about getting ready for it?

  1. Make it Special! Look, anyone can book out a calendar whether it is for a single day or two. The question is “What is it about your photography event that differentiates it from anyone elses?” OK, your photography is pretty good…but there are hundreds of other photographers too.
    1. I try to make my sessions special by personalizing not only my shooting and editing style to each client, but I bring a little extra handmade hair pieces - asheville photographer - beauty photographyalong with me. I’ve made three dresses that my clients are welcome to wear if they want too. I’ve made a few hair pieces they can wear and I provide a professional makeover with artisans from the Asheville area.
      1. Amanda Fitts Lewis – Lola Salon and Gallery, Ashlee Knight – The Secret Spa, Tiziana Severse – Aubergine Salon
    2. I personalize their session to them. By having conversations and asking them to complete a simple survey I go into their session knowing what THEY are envisioning for their photography, the purpose of it (whether it is a gift for themselves or for someone special), what they love about themselves and maybe a few things they don’t like so much. All of this information helps me to tailor my shooting TO them. I’m not here to simply point and shoot. These sessions have the capacity to be truly impactful to each of you. It is my job to care for and design each session with that in mind.
    3. Mimosas. Enough said.
  2. Inspiration.
    photography preparation - asheville portraits
    Making your inspiration tangible helps to solidify your process and in turn, your final product
    1. I make time to research in magazines and online for photography that I identify from what I know of each client. What can I do for them that will bring them joy with their finished images? Do these clients identify with Audrey Hepburn or Angelina Jolie?
    2. I carve out some time where I can sit down and draw out a posing plan to help along my vision for their session. Now, as you can see I am not much of an artist when it comes to drawing, however I do find that even sketching ideas out on paper truly helps me to solidify the vision that I have for my clients. ***That vision is of course based on conversations that I have had with each client and not just random thoughts I’m pulling out of the air. 
  3. Keep Organized! Believe it or not, if you don’t go into these marathon sessions even remotely organized…you’re done for!
    1. Setup client info sheets and model releases into Client folders before you even leave your office. Have each folder titled and ready with pens in one place. Bam! Before you even take your “Before” photo, have them complete the information. Not only will you get the legalese out-of-the-way, you’re making a professional first impression and then you don’t have to worry about chasing down a model release after-the-fact when you have that one amazing shot that you cannot use for your marketing because they never signed one.
    2. Have a backup camera, lenses, memory cards and batteries! Just do it. Even if you rent an extra for the day, that peace of mind is totally worth it!
    3. Bring a charger with you. Not just one for your phone either. I’m talking about a camera battery charger.
    4. Have copies of your price lists on site. You can give them to your client again as they’re leaving when you’ve scheduled their in person viewing. (Yes, that also means you should bring a calendar to schedule that viewing)

OK, I’m off to print a few model release forms to have on hand this weekend! If you’ve come across this blog post and are in need of a beauty pick-me-up this weekend, I do have a couple of appointments available on Sunday. Feel free to email me for your free personal consultation. I’d love to shoot for you! Cat@Studio-828.com

Leave a Reply

