Fine Art Portrait Concept

Coming into the fall this year, I realized I was struggling. Struggling to meet the level of service I strive to provide for my clients. Struggling to really create the imagery I KNOW that I can. A friend asked me when the last time I had shot, just to be shooting? Just to be shooting for me and I truly couldn’t answer. I had no idea.

When you first start out, you photograph anything and everything. It’s how you decide where you passion really lies within photography. Is it with weddings and events? Is it photographing infants? Is it in a photo-journalistic approach or a studio setting? Is it in covering families? Is it in shooting men or women? Is it with digital or film? Is it for fashion and editorial work? Is it with personal portraiture? Conceptual work and abstract? The list goes on and on.

For me personally, I have ALWAYS loved photographing people, women especially. Yes, I have experience with events and weddings and covering concerts and street photography but where my heart sings s portraiture. I prefer it be in my studio but it certainly hasn’t been banished only there, haha.

This year, I had been concentrating so heavily on my continuing education, my blinders were up. Plain and simple. And, by this fall, man I gotta tell ya, my fire was barely a candle flame. This happened when I studied music, too. I became so wrapped up in the theory of everything, the logistics that I had lost the love of the music itself. I had taken the art away and brought everything back down to the rules. It ruined it for me. Now, the extent of my singing belongs to belting at a karaoke night (don’t get me wrong, I will sing loud and proud for some karaoke) but the dreams of a career in music beyond teaching, left me a long time ago.

So, when my friend asked me when the last time I had photographed anything just for me it dawned on me that…I hadn’t. Plain and simple.

This is not an option. Not ever. For any artist. Heed these words, please.

As as an artist I HAVE to create, it’s in my blood. I love creating: lists, plans, concepts, flyers, goals, paintings, composites, you name it. What I get lost in sometimes is the execution. If you take away the creation part and all I’m left with is maintenance, and rules, and theories, my well runs pretty dry.

It was pretty apparent to me that I needed to start planning a shoot just for me. I had found some inspiration in a clay facial mask and found a model that could move like a ballerina and we created some beautiful images together.

I am now adding a conceptual line to our menu with 828. I will work with you and your ideas to design a vision to create some beautiful artwork. Please, let me know if you’re interested.

Model: Emma D

Photography: Cat Ford-Coates

inspired photography in asheville

Inspiration on the way:

  • all white – December
  • cherry red – January
  • Napoleonic era – February
  • branches – March
  • Paris – April
Leave a Reply

