How Being Thankful Inspires Goals for the New Year

Getting ready for the new year, we all have sugar plums dancing about everything we hope to accomplish. My own goals are no different. First and foremost however, before putting pen to paper on those goals I think it is paramount that I review the year coming to a close to be thankful for my accomplishments and lessons.

This year has been a doozie for me, personally and professionally. I came in to 2015 with a goal to complete my continuing education course (which I did! Wahoo!), and to build my business, build savings for my family, and learn to manage my time more efficiently. What I have come to learn, throughout this year was so much more.

I did complete my continuing education. I also closed my second business and that took a toll on me both emotionally and financially. What I’ve come to realize with that closing is that it was the perfect opportunity for me to put my all and everything into this business, my photography. What is it they say? “Where focus goes, energy flows?” and it is exactly the truth. I picked myself up and dusted myself off and said “Cat, no more excuses. Now is the time for you to really shine, so get up off your arse and get to it.”

Since then I’ve been to New York, I’ve made new friends and new clients, visited with dear friends I haven’t connected with in years, my husband and I are actually able to spend time with one another (a concept foreign to us for years) and I love going to work every, single day.

I am excited for 2016. Life hands you exactly what you ask of it and I see that now. I love that I am able to live my life doing exactly what I love and with the people I choose to enjoy this journey with by my side. I love that I am able to support others in their dreams, and their successes.

For 2016:

  • My goal is to travel, to learn from masters in my field.
  • My goal is to build savings for my family.
  • My goal is to live to the fullest at every opportunity.
  • My goal is to photograph 192 women in 2016.
  • My goal is to photograph one inspired, conceptual shoot for me each month.
  • My goal is to spend quality time with the people that mean the world to me, near and far.
  • My goal is to set boundaries for myself and stick to them.

One of the things I started doing this year was saying “yes” to things. Things I had never experienced or had been fearful of. New ideas, new concepts, new journeys and it has been one of the most liberating changes in my life. Now I’m excited to fly on a plane. I trust that the pilot will get me to my destination safely. Now, I make new friends whenever given the opportunity and embrace everything wonderful I see in those people (Thanks, Andy 😀). Now, I venture to new places, out of my home, out of my regular path to connect to new people almost everyday. I am so thankful for that.

What are some of your goals for 2016? What is on your horizon?

Leave a Reply

