DIY Flower Crown & My First Periscope!

DIY flower crown, baby!!!

I did my first Periscope last night and…helloooo, SO. FUN. You can follow me at @catfordcoates I’ve been making a list about different topics to scope on and its lookin like I’ll be using it’s fabulousness pretty regularly. Oh! AND! I got my first troller on the scope last night too! While, I need to remember not to curse AT people ON Periscope, it felt pretty cool. Haha! You know you’ve “made it” when…

At any rate, I am a sucker for a DIY project! Now, that isn’t to say that I am particularly GOOD at DIY. I love to paint, and sew, and do all the crafty things but I am far and away from being good at any of them. What’s the rule? It doesn’t have to be perfect, it just needs to get done. Story of my life right there!

assistant - flower crown - diy
My lovely assistant

Don’t get me wrong. I am very detail oriented, but in very specific tasks. Things like client work, SEO for my website, spelling (haha), but when it comes to building props or creating dress options for my studio…Girl, none of that needs to be perfection. I’m not selling it on a runway. They are tools to set my photography apart and help my clients to feel special and beautiful. <<<That right there is my number one priority. Period.

That being said, I have a photo shoot coming up next weekend. This shoot is serving two purposes:

  1. It is part of my “stay inspired” series where I shoot concepts just for me, and to build my portfolio in new directions. The theme? “Marie Antoinette”
  2. Shooting editorial portraits for a lingerie designer that we are hoping to feature in a magazine (I’ll keep you posted)

What I love about the two looks is that it’s allowing me to stretch my legs in designing a themed photo shoot, giving us two completely different options for Marie Antoinette, one of which will be directed more towards portraiture and the other towards boudoir. It’ll be fab!

So, in creating a prop for one of the looks I decided that:

  1. I needed to build a flower crown.
    1. I needed to periscope it to show:
      1. how frickin easy it is
      2. have a double-purposed video (one on Periscope and one I could use here on my blog)

…and then I went down the rabbit hole and made two, had my super squishy assistant Matilda wearing one (she’s a golden/aussie and the best assistant ever!), and made a giant mess of my dining room. The latter is nothing all that new. I build most of the crafty hacks for my portrait studio here at home.

Here is the periscope video in case you missed it! Be sure to download the app so you can follow me live! Also, my Instagram has all of my funness as well: behind the scenes, Matilda (because, duh!), client favorites, and the list goes on. Both handles are:

@catfordcoates

See you on the other side!

flower crown - diy - photographer
I am the lady liberty of flower crowns

Xo,

Cat

Now, the steps to making a flower crown. The recipe if you will.

Materials:

  1. Floral Wire
  2. Floral tape
  3. stemmed fake flowers
  4. wire cutters or pliers will work too

**Note, I spent $23 on 1-2-3 (already had pliers) and had enough material for two adult crowns and I still have two rolls of floral tape and about a million feet of floral wire, as well as enough “flowers” left to get through a crown for a young girl.

  1. Measure wire around your head three times
  2. Cover length of wire by winding floral tape around the wire (this will take a while)
  3. loosely twist the wire around itself (3 times) – this makes the base sturdy enough to hold your flowers and stems
  4. Flowers:
    1. trim your flowers to where you have about 2″ of stem (give or take)
    2. thread stems through wire braiding
    3. wrap threaded stems with floral tape
    4. repeat a million times
Leave a Reply

